17-year old, Rohan Ahuja from Goa continued his dream run in round 3 of the 8th edition of Mumbai Mayor’s International Chess Tournament 2015. After registering a shock victory in round 2 over GM Semcesen, the youngster produced another upset by holding the Indian GM, Deepan Chakravarthy to a draw in round 3.

Playing white, Rohan opted for a King’s Indian attack and the game went on an equal footing. The steady exchange of pieces did not help GM Deepan and though his Rook was able to penetrate on the opponent’s side, Rohan created counter-play to nullify whatever advantage GM Deepan was enjoying. The players called for a truce after 45-moves as neither had any chances of winning. Rohan now has an impressive tally of 2.5/3 to share the 2nd spot jointly.

Similar performances were recorded by IM S.Nitin and IM Swayams Mishra as they held their higher rated opponents, GM Alexander Zubov and GM Aleksandrov respectively to a draw.

Meanwhile the other results on top-boards went as per the expected lines with higher rated Grandmasters securing wins over their opponents.  The top-seeded Grandmaster in the event, Kokarev Dmitry heads into round 4 along with GM Mchedlishvili, GM Martin Kravstiv, GM Pavel Smirnov, GM Debashish Das, GM Ziaur Rahman, GM Vitaly Sivuk & GM Nguyen Duc. All these players are on 3 points from as many rounds.

Seven more rounds remains to be played in this event, which is being sponsored by Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC), co-sponsored by the Life Insurance Corporation of India and hosted by Goregaon Sports Club.

Key Results of Round 3:

Bo.                    Name                            Rtg       Pts.       Result   Pts.                   Name                            Rtg

1           GM       Kokarev Dmitry              2639     3          Beat     2          IM        Ravi Teja S.                   2403

2          GM       Zubov Alexander            2612      2½        Drew     2½        IM        Nitin S.                         2357

3          IM        Swayams Mishra             2439     2½        Drew     2½        GM       Aleksandrov A                2607

4          IM        Prasanna  Rao                 2424     2          Lost to  3          GM       Mchedlishvili M             2597

5          GM       Kravtsiv Martyn             2589     3          Beat     2                      Kulkarni Rakesh             2353

6                      Sanjay N.                       2310      2          Lost to  3          GM       Smirnov Pavel                 2588

7          IM        Sangma Rahul                 2307     2          Lost to  3          GM       Debashis Das                 2508

8          GM       Rahman Ziaur                 2500     3          Beat     2          CM        Puranik Abhimanyu          2307

9                      Rohan Ahuja                   2218      2½        Drew     2½        GM       Deepan Chakkravarthy J. 2497

10         GM       Sivuk Vitaly                    2491      3          Beat     2          WFM    Pujari Rucha                   2141

11                      Muthaiah Al                   2159      2          Lost to  3          GM       Nguyen Duc Hoa             2487

12                     Siva Mahadevan              2125      2½        Drew     2½        IM        Priyadharshan K.             2462

13         GM       Pantsulaia Levan             2616      2½        Beat     2                      Sa Kannan                      2003